The FIA announced the R-GT Cup from 2015 for all sports and rally car fans' pleasure.

New, tarmac rally cup series for GT cars is taking place at selected World and European Rally Championship events.

When the FIA announced Group R-GT three years ago, nobody knew whether somebody would take the chance and build cars for the new regulations without being able to score points at any rally championships.

In a nutshell, Group R categories were crafted by the FIA to phase out the old and expensive S1600 and S2000 cars in rallying. However, a GT class was also added to the "R" division, for two-wheel drive cars without any limit on the engine capacity (restricted on the power output). That sounds like a perfect recipe for the best 70s and 80s throwback of Porsches, Lancias and Ferraris tackling ridge roads in the lower Alpines. To make things even more promising, no homologation is needed for R-GT since the beginning of this year, each individual car must obtain its own technical passport.


In other words: any 2WD or 2WD-converted car can be qualified, given that 30 examples are produced from the base model each year.


To put the icing on the cake, though, the FIA announced the R-GT Cup for such rally cars at selected WRC and ERC events run on tarmac from 2015.

The complete list as such:

  • Rallye Monte Carlo - Monaco (WRC)
  • GEKO Ypres Rally - Belgium (ERC)
  • Rallye Deutschland - Germany (WRC)
  • Rallye International du Valais - Switzerland (ERC)
  • Tour de Corse - France (ERC)

So far, three different types of cars appeared at various rallies built to Group R-GT specifications. A Lotus Exige, a Porsche 996 and a 997.

What cars would you like to see in the R-GT Cup?

Official FIA Press Release

Technical Regulations for R-GT

Image credits:

Porsche -

Lotus -

Next up: the 48th Mecsek Rally - final round of the 2014 Hungarian Rally Championship and the Historic Rally Championship featuring a great deal of historic rally cars from Porsches through Escorts and Ladas to Jaguars and Lancia Deltas